Historic Clifton Mill Restaurant- Clifton, Ohio

It’s been about a year since I’ve met up with my childhood friend, Debbie. Our last hike was at Tawawa Park in Sidney, Ohio back in August when I was first adjusting back from Thailand. How does Covid time go by so slowly and quickly at the same time? It’s like a time warp! But Debbie has kept in touch with me all year as we Marco Polo each other on a weekly basis. This video communication app really helped me when in Thailand and continues to make me feel connected when distance is between us.

We decided to meet up at the historic restaurant in Clifton, Ohio and enjoy some Sunday breakfast before our planned hike. It was literally pouring down rain as I headed out at 8:30 am with no indication of stopping. Debbie left me a message, being the optimistic trooper that she is, saying she was hopeful I was bringing the sun with me and that she was in her best hiking gear complete with a hooded rain jacket. Love that she was ready no matter what and not calling to cancel which is what I originally predicted.

The outside of the restaurant.
The property was surrounded by vintage buildings. I have never been to this part of the Ohio countryside before. I am told they also put on an awesome Christmas light display.
No historic town is complete unless it has a local blacksmith.
Inside was the charm of an old country shop. Knick Knacks galore!
I purchased some cow tails in memory of my daughter’s childhood candy walks. In our Oakley neighborhood, there was a ghetto candy shop at the end of our block and the kids would walk down to buy cow tails regularly.
(cow tails are caramel cream in a long strand)
A view outside, still raining, of the historic mill and covered bridge.
Debbie noticed the pancake challenge right away, but in the end we both opted for the french toast.
Debbie being a sport with me snapping photos. This one capturing the real sunflower set at our table. Such a nice touch.
Pin on Empowering Quotes
This defines Debbie. She has been my friend for 47 years and I cherish her optimism, sarcasm, & outlook on life and truly appreciate her support of my crazy spirited lifestyle.

Leave a comment