Beehive Restaurant- Augusta, Kentucky

While serving up Hive & Barrel at the Maysville Uncorked Wine Festival, one couple thought it would be an excellent idea to pair our meads with a small restaurant in Augusta named Beehive. Since mead is made from honey, it was a pretty cute suggested match.

Heading out Sunday, we decided to take a 20 minute detour along the Ohio River and check out the restaurant for lunch. I was told sometimes you need to make reservations, so I booked a table for 11:15 since we were both starving. Literally 15 minutes after they opened.

Google maps took us directly to the restaurant which was across the street from the town mural featuring their ferry which I later participated in.
Another beautiful day. With another river view.
The decor was so well thought out and themed.
A fantastic local pace with history and regulars.
We sat at our balcony table and watched the barges pass by.
We started with a deviled egg appetizer that was fried in a parmesan crust with bits of bacon on it. Never had anything like it before! I could’ve eaten all 4!!
My bourbon french toast was to die for. I usually don’t show food shots in my blog, as food is not my joy, but today it was!
Bee themes throughout.
Such detail. I love a well designed place.

As we were eating George Clooney’s parents walked in to wish someone a happy birthday. All the customers were excited and getting their photos taken with them. We did not. It was so funny as the Clooney couple was walking out, they looked over at my George and said “Hi George”. So causal and cool. My man, so humble and kind.

We ended up giving the bartender some mead to play with and after we walked around the block, the bartender waved us back in to try his concoctions. His cocktails were amazing! All the staff were raving about the meads and I would love it if they ended up buying some and highlighting it at their establishment. So fun seeing and sampling this bartender’s quick creativity.

Cute tourism welcome center.
As we walked around, there really wasn’t too much to Augusta. Old historic homes and a few antique shops which held off -hours.
I wanted to check out this garden, but then we realized it was someone’s back yard 🙂
Many of the homes along the river sported historic dates.
Nice little walkway as we headed back.
I decided to take the car ferry which went back and forth across the river taking cars from Ohio to Kentucky and vise versa. I needed to go back to Cincinnati and was currently on the Kentucky side.

When I drove onto the ferry I was the only car on board. A young man came up and asked for the $5.00 fee, but I found out they didn’t take cards, only cash, which I had none. I panicked and called George who I was hoping hadn’t taken off yet. Thankfully he went down and paid the man when the ferry returned. Such a gentleman, always taking care of me.

I drove home with this small bouquet of wildflowers in my cup holder. A beautiful reminder of the weekend.

2 thoughts on “Beehive Restaurant- Augusta, Kentucky

  1. Hi, the garden you wanted to check out is done by a 90 year old man. He works in his yard all the time. He would of loved if you had stopped by to admire and chat. Its amazing the time he spends in his yard. Thats why it so beautiful. He is my brother in law. He wife passed 2 years ago after marriage of 63 years. His love of his life. Meet her at age 13 on a blind date. She told him she was 17. They were married and the the story of life of love ❤️ goes on till few years ago she got sick. The man across the street in the big house is his friend. He too lost his wife over the past year to covid. Both of these men have beautiful homes. Thanks for the attention of their homes and pictures on here.

    Like

    1. Hi Judy- thank you so much for commenting and revealing the love and history that went into the places that captured my attention in Augusta and provided me a moment of admiration and joy. Makes me realize that when you see something that moves you, there is love energy that probably built it. Or at the very least a story that brought it to life. 🩷🩵💜

      Appreciate your reading my recaps of life.

      Like

Leave a comment